Core Purpose: To elevate and unite automotive professionals and give them voice.

Monthly Archives: August 2015

Comply with Copper Brake Regulations

Comply with Copper Brake Regulations

In 2010, both the States of California and Washington enacted legislation that will require brake pads sold or installed in both states to have reduced levels of copper and other heavy metals. The legislation was enacted due to claims by environmental groups and regulators that as brake pads wear down, copper and other metals are deposited on roadways where they are washed into streams and rivers. Copper is highly toxic to fish and other aquatic species. The new brake rules for California and Washington State will place significant compliance requirements for the entire distribution system from the brake pad manufacturers down to installers. While Washington State is in the process of finalizing their rules, California has not yet begun the development of their rules to implement the requirements. However, the laws have several similarities and it is hoped that California’s Department of Toxic and Substance Control will adopt much of Washington’s regulatory scheme. Lea ... read more

Telematics in Its Simplest Form

What you need to know about telematics and protecting consumer choice within the automotive service industry. The ASCCA Public Relations committee is encouraging all ASCCA members to begin engaging their customers in a consumer education campaign on Telematics. A flyer has been developed by the Committee for you to use in your shops. Learn more: http://www.ascca.com/blog/engage-your-customers-on-the-issue-of-telematics

Legislation to Increase Minimum Wage Dies in Assembly Committee

Legislation to increase California’s minimum wage died in the State Assembly just one day after a poll conducted by the California Wellness Foundation found that 68 percent of Californians support it. Senate Bill 3 (Leno) would have increased the minimum wage to $13 an hour over the next two years. Despite the fate of the bill, the poll indicated that proponents of the measure had gained considerable ground in recent months. Senate Bill 3 was introduced on the heels of Assembly Bill 10 (Alejo), legislation signed by Governor Brown in 2013 that increased the minimum wage from $8 an hour to $10 an hour by January 1, 2016. If signed into law, SB 3 would have punished California’s small business owners who are already struggling to afford the skyrocketing costs of workers' compensation, energy use, and the Affordable Care Act. Auto shop owners in particular are a ... read more

If You Are Using A Screen Reader And Are Having Problems Using This Website, please call Automotive Service Councils of California (800) 810-4272 For Assistance.